What are the Brecon Beacons National Park


National parks in the UK

Some places are very popular with visitors. They attract such large numbers of visitors that they have become known as honeypot sites.

National parks are areas of great natural beauty that give the opportunity for recreation. Some parts of national parks contain many honeypot sites. They need to be looked after to prevent the large numbers of visitors destroying the attraction.

National parks were introduced in the UK in 1949. They have two key aims:

  • to preserve the countryside
  • to promote the public’s enjoyment of the area

National parks in England and Wales are:

  • Peak District
  • Lake District
  • Snowdonia
  • Dartmoor
  • Pembrokeshire Coast
  • North York Moors
  • Yorkshire Dales
  • Exmoor
  • Northumberland
  • Brecon Beacons
  • The Broads
  • New Forest
  • South Downs
  • National parks in Scotland are:
  • Cairngorms
  • Loch Lomond and the Trossachs